Transport Minister Sunil Sharma inaugurates e-Challaning system at Srinagar New schemes...

Transport Minister Sunil Sharma inaugurates e-Challaning system at Srinagar New schemes will enhance capacity of Transport department, Traffic police


Srinagar, Oct   28. CNS : The Hon’ble Minister of State for Transport (Independent charge) Shri Sunil Kumar Sharma inaugurated the e-challaning facility at Traffic Police City Srinagar at Sriangar today.

On the occasion, Director General of Police Dr S.P. Vaid, Inspector General of Police Kashmir SMunir Ahmad Khan, IGP Traffic Kashmir Jagjit Kumar, IGP Headquarters  Surinder Kumar Gupta, DIG CKR/Traffic Shri Ghulam Hassan Bhat, DC Srinagar  Syed Abid Rashid were present.

Speaking on the occasion, i Sunil Kumar Sharma complimented the J&K Police for launching e-challenging and termed it a big achievement in shortest possible time. Hailing the role of Traffic Police in managing high traffic despite manpower constraints in the state in general and in the capital cities in particular, the Minister said that he has himself seen the IGP Traffic Police and other senior officers on roads managing the traffic and added that there is perfect coordination between the Traffic Police and the Traffic Department.. He said that Centre Govt approved projects such as intergrated Traffic Management System, Driving Institutes and Integrated Certificate Centres for Jammu as well as Srinagar will go a long way in enhancing the capacity of Department of Transport and Traffic police.

Earlier in his welcome address, SSP Traffic City Srinagar Shri Tahir Saleem Khan highlighted features of e-Challaning devices like Offline Challaning and e-Payment. He said that 20 such devices are being distributed.

Vishal Mahajan from IT wing of SICOP gave resume of technicalities and integrating features of e-Challaning devices.

Among others, SSP Srinagar City Imtiaz Ismail Parray, AIG Provision Shri Junaid Mehmood, AIG Personnel Shri Mubassir Latifi, SSP Security Shri Maqsood-ul-Zaman, SSP Traffic Rural Shri Aijaz Bhat, RTO Kashmir Shri Farooq Ahmad Rather, SP City East Shri Dawood and GOs, NGOs of traffic police were present.(CNS)