Home J&K Kavinder Gupta is new Dy CM of Jammu Kashmir

Kavinder Gupta is new Dy CM of Jammu Kashmir

Jammu: BJP's Kanvindar Gupta after being elected as the Speaker of the J & K Assembly in Jammu on Wednesday. PTI Photo (PTI3_18_2015_000140B)

Jammu: Jammu and Kashmir Assembly speaker Kavinder Gupta and seven others were today sworn in as ministers in the state’s PDP-BJP government led by Mehbooba Mufti.
Gupta will be the new deputy chief minister in place of Nirmal Singh, who submitted his resignation last night, officials said.

The new BJP faces sworn in as ministers were the party’s state unit chief Satpal Sharma and the MLAs from Kathua and adjoining Sambha, Rajiv Jasrotia and Devinder Kumar Manyal, respectively.
The BJP also upgraded Sunil Sharma, at present minister of state for transport, to the rank of a cabinet minister. BJP MLA from Doda Shakti Raj took oath as a minister of state.
The PDP members included in the cabinet were Mohd Khalil Band, MLA from Pulwama, and Mohd Ashraf Mir, MLA from Sonwar.