Home J&K Dr. S.D.Singh IPS,  IGP Jammu  inaugurates 8th Police Martyr’s memorial North Zone...

Dr. S.D.Singh IPS,  IGP Jammu  inaugurates 8th Police Martyr’s memorial North Zone T-20 Cricket Championship 2018 in Kathua

Kathua Dec CNS :8th Police Martyr’s memorial T-20 Cricket Championship 2018 was inaugurated today in a cheerful and mesmerizing ambience at sports stadium Kathua.Dr.S.D Singh IPS, Inspector general of  Police  Jammu Zone, chief guest on the occasion inaugurated  the Championship in presence of Brig. Anil Jain , Sh Vivek Gupta IPS DIG JSK Range Guest of honours, Sh.Shridhar Patil IPS SP Kathua,officers of Civil and police administration, Army, BSF and other sister agencies, shaheed welfare committee, respectables of Kathua, retired police and army officers, esteemed families of martyrs and sponsors of the championship.Youth and localites thronged the sports stadium Kathua with enthusiasm on the occasion.
Sh.Shridhar Patil IPS SP Kathua in his welcome address welcomed all the dignitaries and the spectators for making the inauguration a mega event and grace the occasion.SP Kathua also briefed  chronology of the championship since its beginning in the year 2010.
Besides, Sh Ravinder Salathia Chairman Shaheed welfare committee expressed gratitude to the chief guest, guest of Honours, Kathua Police , Sponsors for their great contribution in organizing the event.
IGP Jammu alongwith others paid rich tribute to Police Martyrs and reiterated that Jammu and Kashmir Police will not forget the sacrifices of our martyrs who sacrificed their lives in the line of duty during his inaugural address.He further added that Police will continue it’s efforts to promote sports to channelize energy of youth in positive directions to build better society , keep our youths away from drugs and other social ill effects and gives platform to choose sports as their career.
The event was started with colorful and mesmerising cultural activities presented by students of Govt. Higher Secondary Schools Boys and Girls Kathua and Jammu Sanskrit School Kathua.
A total of 16 teams are participating in the championship.The tournament shall be held on league basis up to quarter final and thereafter on knockout basis.
Prizes for the above said championship shall remain as under
1. Winner Team 1st Prize – Rs. 3.50 lacs
2.Runner Up Team 2nd Prize
– Rs. 2.50 lacs
3. Man of the series  – Alto K-10 Car
4. Best batsman   – Motor Cycle Hero Splendor
5. Best bowler    –      Motor Cycle Hero Splendor
6. Man of the match (final match) –
 Motor Cycle Hero Splendor
Today the first match of the chamionship was played between team  Sabhi Cricket Club Hoshiarpur and Vicky 11 Pathankot.Sabhi Cricket Club Hoshiarpur won the toss and  choose to bat.Sabhi Cricket Club Hoshiarpur set a target of 113 runs in 20 overs with a loss of 7 wickets. Vicky 11 Pathankot got all out at 112 runs.Sabi Hoshiarpur won the first match of the tournament by 1 run.Abhimanyu of Sabi club Hoshiarpur  was declared the man of match who scored 46 runs in 51 balls.
Kathua Police and Shaheed welfare committee requested to  people to witness 22 day long tournament and to boost the moral of all participants.